Breaking a Six-Month Hiatus, En Route to the USA

IMG_6828

Umm, hi there. Where to start?

Books! Let’s talk books!

2017 has been a year of paltry reading. I’ve only read 6 books so far, three of them (Miss Pettigrew Lives for a Day, Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone, and Roald Dahl’s Matilda) rereads. The rereads are deliberate; these are comforting, easy to speed through, and they inject some much-needed joy to my days.

Quite sad that my own personal writing has been minimal so far this year too. Not just this blog, but I also wanted (and still want) to tackle one of the two big fiction ideas that has been knocking about in my imagination since college.

Putting aside reading and personal writing were done in favor of my day job, for which I have poured all my efforts, energy, and heart. Man, 2017 has been a roller-coaster year for my career. I work for a high-stress, high-pressure company, which demands more and more from us each passing day. My supervisor told me everyone can see my skills. Indeed, I recently got a promotion and each quarter, more responsibilities are heaved my way.

So that’s good. But I do notice that this stressful and draining office environment often breeds insensitivity. Maybe that just my idealism talking, but I can fully see that some people will eventually refuse to be pushed further and harder without positivity to balance out the pressure.

Anyway, let’s move on from apocalyptic thoughts.

***

IMG_6827

I’m on leave from the office at the moment and Shelter by Jung Yun is my airplane novel of choice.

IMG_6823

Look at this photo! I’m halfway through after only 3 hours. I’m a pretty slow reader but it’s been demoralizing to see that I’m only sixty pages into a book a month after I’ve started just because I’m so busy these days.

I will write a full-length review of Shelter eventually. It’s really good so far, very gripping and compulsive. I am forgoing on-air entertainment to keep turning the pages.

Shelter is a very dramatic novel, almost excessively so, which knocks it down a bit in my eyes. But such a compelling page-turner is the perfect novel to feel like an incurable book lover all over again. And the novel raises some fascinating points on family and parenthood.

More on the themes in a proper review later! For now, I’m back on the blogosphere – and very happy to be back!

4 thoughts on “Breaking a Six-Month Hiatus, En Route to the USA

Leave a Reply

